Save Clara's OAM!

Save Clara's OAM

Please sign our petition so that Dr Clara Soo doesn't have to return her Order of Australia, and so equity and inclusion are values honours recipients uphold.

Canberra doctor, Clara Tuck Meng Soo, has returned her Order of Australia Medal in protest against Mrs Margaret Court being awarded the highest Order of Australia.
In her letter to the Governor-General (attached), Dr Soo said,

“By giving this promotion to Mrs Margaret Court, the Council of the Order of Australia is sending a strong signal to distressed (LGBTIQ+) youth that discrimination and prejudice against them is tolerated. I do not want to be seen as supporting the values that the Council seems to be supporting with this promotion of Mrs Margaret Court. I would like to return my OAM."

In 2016, Dr Soo received an OAM for her life's work as a medical practitioner with LGBTIQ+ people, HIV+ people and those with drug dependencies. Dr Soo was one of the first GPs to undergo gender transition in Australia.

Sign our petition: Clara should not lose her OAM!

In 2016 Dr Soo received an Order of Australia medal for her life's work as a medical practitioner with LGBTIQ+ people, people with HIV and people with drug dependencies & was one of the first GPs to undergo gender transition in Australia.

Clara is a great Australian.

We applaud Clara’s stand and urge the Council of the Order of Australia to reconsider its decision and ask the Governor General and the Council of the Order of Australia to review their standards of review and how it came to be that someone with such a prominent, divisive and destructive impact could be further elevated.

Margaret Court has an enviable sporting record which has been frequently honoured, including receiving an AO in 2007. Her focus since then has been to use the platform her tennis career and honours she has received to divide the country and harm the sense of belonging and inclusion of some Australians.

Margaret Court's primary contribution to Australian society since being awarded an AO for her historic tennis achievements in 2007 has been to campaign to marginalise and malign LGBTIQ Australians.

Either the Council was not aware of the damage and division she has actively contributed to or they are and they are supporting it.

Australians cannot turn a blind eye to that conduct. We cannot ignore that it appears the Council seemingly appears to not celebrate inclusive Australian values.

We cannot accept that Margaret Court is an example of the best of Australians when she has worked so hard against the welfare of some of us.

We do not want Clara's life of service to not be celebrated by the Australian Honours System.

The decision has tarnished many Australian's perception of the Honours system and many distinguished Australians may reconsider their association that further elevates the divisive efforts of Margaret Court.

Please review the standards that guides the Council, affirm that Australian values celebrate the inclusion and dignity of LGBTIQ people and protect Clara's OAM.

*Signatories to this petition who have already been recognised in the Australian Honours system can also sign our open letter here*

Who's signing

Gwenda Williams
Nabila Ali
Deborah Mitchell
Michele Murphy
Anita Hutchison
Travis Hennessy
Olga Ward
Megan Stanton-Cook
Julienne Webb
Jo Crookes
Susan Allen
tiffany ninness
Helen Todd
George Crisp
rami Hazou
Lewis Wairoa
Harley Bussell
Brian Buckley
Melissa Pinner
Claire Shanks
Kirsty Neil
Michele McIlveen
Janelle Short
karley Whimp
Carlie Park
Bruce McAllister
Leesa pettit
Tracey Newman
Ruby Edwards
Emily Kinnane
1,990 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Gwenda Williams
    signed 2021-01-26 11:01:25 +1100
  • Nabila Ali
    signed 2021-01-26 11:01:18 +1100
  • Deborah Mitchell
    signed 2021-01-26 11:01:00 +1100
  • Michele Murphy
    signed 2021-01-26 10:59:38 +1100
  • Anita Hutchison
    signed via 2021-01-26 10:58:52 +1100
  • Travis Hennessy
    signed 2021-01-26 10:56:28 +1100
  • Olga Ward
    signed 2021-01-26 10:55:44 +1100
  • Megan Stanton-Cook
    signed 2021-01-26 10:55:39 +1100
  • Julienne Webb
    signed 2021-01-26 10:54:09 +1100
  • Jo Crookes
    signed 2021-01-26 10:53:58 +1100
  • Susan Allen
    signed 2021-01-26 10:53:44 +1100
  • tiffany ninness
    signed 2021-01-26 10:49:36 +1100
  • Helen Todd
    signed 2021-01-26 10:48:59 +1100
  • George Crisp
    signed 2021-01-26 10:48:36 +1100
  • rami Hazou
    signed 2021-01-26 10:46:58 +1100
  • Lewis Wairoa
    signed 2021-01-26 10:45:13 +1100
  • Harley Bussell
    signed 2021-01-26 10:43:52 +1100
  • Brian Buckley
    signed 2021-01-26 10:43:24 +1100
  • Melissa Pinner
    signed 2021-01-26 10:43:23 +1100
  • Claire Shanks
    signed 2021-01-26 10:42:28 +1100
  • Kirsty Neil
    signed 2021-01-26 10:42:21 +1100
  • Michele McIlveen
    signed 2021-01-26 10:39:51 +1100
  • Janelle Short
    signed via 2021-01-26 10:38:31 +1100
  • karley Whimp
    signed 2021-01-26 10:38:19 +1100
  • Carlie Park
    signed 2021-01-26 10:31:06 +1100
  • Bruce McAllister
    signed 2021-01-26 10:28:54 +1100
  • Leesa pettit
    signed 2021-01-26 10:28:37 +1100
  • Tracey Newman
    signed 2021-01-26 10:27:34 +1100
  • Ruby Edwards
    signed 2021-01-26 10:25:55 +1100
  • Emily Kinnane
    signed 2021-01-26 10:25:54 +1100

Donate! Pledge Your Support!


get updates