Save Clara's OAM!

Save Clara's OAM

Please sign our petition so that Dr Clara Soo doesn't have to return her Order of Australia, and so equity and inclusion are values honours recipients uphold.

Canberra doctor, Clara Tuck Meng Soo, has returned her Order of Australia Medal in protest against Mrs Margaret Court being awarded the highest Order of Australia.
In her letter to the Governor-General (attached), Dr Soo said,

“By giving this promotion to Mrs Margaret Court, the Council of the Order of Australia is sending a strong signal to distressed (LGBTIQ+) youth that discrimination and prejudice against them is tolerated. I do not want to be seen as supporting the values that the Council seems to be supporting with this promotion of Mrs Margaret Court. I would like to return my OAM."

In 2016, Dr Soo received an OAM for her life's work as a medical practitioner with LGBTIQ+ people, HIV+ people and those with drug dependencies. Dr Soo was one of the first GPs to undergo gender transition in Australia.

Sign our petition: Clara should not lose her OAM!

In 2016 Dr Soo received an Order of Australia medal for her life's work as a medical practitioner with LGBTIQ+ people, people with HIV and people with drug dependencies & was one of the first GPs to undergo gender transition in Australia.

Clara is a great Australian.

We applaud Clara’s stand and urge the Council of the Order of Australia to reconsider its decision and ask the Governor General and the Council of the Order of Australia to review their standards of review and how it came to be that someone with such a prominent, divisive and destructive impact could be further elevated.

Margaret Court has an enviable sporting record which has been frequently honoured, including receiving an AO in 2007. Her focus since then has been to use the platform her tennis career and honours she has received to divide the country and harm the sense of belonging and inclusion of some Australians.

Margaret Court's primary contribution to Australian society since being awarded an AO for her historic tennis achievements in 2007 has been to campaign to marginalise and malign LGBTIQ Australians.

Either the Council was not aware of the damage and division she has actively contributed to or they are and they are supporting it.

Australians cannot turn a blind eye to that conduct. We cannot ignore that it appears the Council seemingly appears to not celebrate inclusive Australian values.

We cannot accept that Margaret Court is an example of the best of Australians when she has worked so hard against the welfare of some of us.

We do not want Clara's life of service to not be celebrated by the Australian Honours System.

The decision has tarnished many Australian's perception of the Honours system and many distinguished Australians may reconsider their association that further elevates the divisive efforts of Margaret Court.

Please review the standards that guides the Council, affirm that Australian values celebrate the inclusion and dignity of LGBTIQ people and protect Clara's OAM.

*Signatories to this petition who have already been recognised in the Australian Honours system can also sign our open letter here*

Who's signing

Maurie Richardson
Debra Cotter
Suzy Bevan
Vanessa Russo
Rebecca Flanagan
Sean Maloney
James Haley
Patricia Radley
Sue Lawler
Julie McCulloch
Janet O'Dell-Teys
Mark O Reilly
Campbell Harrison
Merilyn Jenkins
Emma Tucker
Rod Clift
Monica Patten
Lucy Post
Aung Lynn
Corinne Sellers
Kate Higgins
Michael Adams
Gillian Saunders
Timothy Smith
Jennifer Lewis
Miranda Lacy
Mark Brown
Claire D
Nicola Macleod
1,990 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Maurie Richardson
    signed 2021-01-26 20:00:48 +1100
  • Debra Cotter
    signed 2021-01-26 19:59:32 +1100
  • Suzy Bevan
    signed 2021-01-26 19:55:35 +1100
  • Jennifer
    signed 2021-01-26 19:54:52 +1100
  • Vanessa Russo
    signed 2021-01-26 19:51:12 +1100
  • Rebecca Flanagan
    signed 2021-01-26 19:48:35 +1100
  • Sean Maloney
    signed 2021-01-26 19:23:06 +1100
  • James Haley
    signed 2021-01-26 19:15:31 +1100
  • Patricia Radley
    signed 2021-01-26 19:14:23 +1100
  • Sue Lawler
    signed 2021-01-26 19:02:19 +1100
  • Julie McCulloch
    signed 2021-01-26 18:58:51 +1100
  • Janet O'Dell-Teys
    signed 2021-01-26 18:45:04 +1100
  • Mark O Reilly
    signed 2021-01-26 18:27:37 +1100
  • Campbell Harrison
    signed 2021-01-26 18:25:38 +1100
  • Merilyn Jenkins
    signed 2021-01-26 18:23:47 +1100
  • Emma Tucker
    signed 2021-01-26 18:15:25 +1100
  • Rod Clift
    signed 2021-01-26 18:11:23 +1100
  • Monica Patten
    signed 2021-01-26 18:06:02 +1100
  • Lucy Post
    signed 2021-01-26 17:53:58 +1100
  • Aung Lynn
    signed 2021-01-26 17:48:23 +1100
  • Corinne Sellers
    signed 2021-01-26 17:40:21 +1100
  • Kate Higgins
    signed 2021-01-26 17:36:54 +1100
  • Michael Adams
    signed 2021-01-26 17:26:32 +1100
  • Gillian Saunders
    signed 2021-01-26 17:24:08 +1100
  • Timothy Smith
    signed 2021-01-26 17:16:54 +1100
  • Jennifer Lewis
    signed 2021-01-26 17:12:49 +1100
  • Miranda Lacy
    signed 2021-01-26 17:09:12 +1100
  • Mark Brown
    signed 2021-01-26 17:00:00 +1100
  • Claire D
    signed 2021-01-26 16:48:47 +1100
  • Nicola Macleod
    signed 2021-01-26 16:48:40 +1100

Donate! Pledge Your Support!


get updates